The CBRT/TWRC Convention
July 28 & 29, 2017

Midland 1001Z peak

Need some help with a radio mod? Pop in and ask away.

Moderator: JR Moderator

User avatar
Rockafella
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 21
Joined: Monday, 19 October 2009, 11:02 AM
Radio: Midland 1001z
Name: TalksAlot
Location: Big-M

Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Rockafella » Monday, 19 October 2009, 11:07 AM

Hello,

My question is this, i have a 1001z, when you open it up, it has 3 knobs. I just want to peak it out to 12 or so watts. Anyone have a schematic or know which of the 3 knobs i need to adjust? The cb shop here want $35 to do it and the radio isn't even worth that much.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!!


User avatar
smoke eater
6 PILL USER
6 PILL USER
Posts: 53
Joined: Tuesday, 29 September 2009, 12:13 PM
Radio: galaxy dx66
Name: Ryan
Location: charleston sc

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by smoke eater » Monday, 19 October 2009, 11:24 AM

try youtube are hit the doc with a PM

User avatar
Rockafella
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 21
Joined: Monday, 19 October 2009, 11:02 AM
Radio: Midland 1001z
Name: TalksAlot
Location: Big-M

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Rockafella » Monday, 19 October 2009, 12:14 PM

Thanks. sent the doc a pm. nothing on youtube. very difficult to find any information on how to peak these radios. I know it takes them about 3 minutes to do it at the shop but of course they wont tell you because they lose money.

User avatar
Rockafella
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 21
Joined: Monday, 19 October 2009, 11:02 AM
Radio: Midland 1001z
Name: TalksAlot
Location: Big-M

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Rockafella » Tuesday, 20 October 2009, 7:24 AM

well i still have no idea which i need to adjust to peak out the radio. anyone have any ideas?

User avatar
Night Crawler
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 3839
Joined: Tuesday, 15 May 2007, 8:03 AM
Location: Northern NJ
Referrals: 1

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Night Crawler » Tuesday, 20 October 2009, 7:54 AM



User avatar
Rockafella
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 21
Joined: Monday, 19 October 2009, 11:02 AM
Radio: Midland 1001z
Name: TalksAlot
Location: Big-M

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Rockafella » Tuesday, 20 October 2009, 8:10 AM

Thanks!! i have that schematic but i work in the import/export business so although i know a bit about electronics, that schematic is out of my league. i was thinking that the what need to be maxed out was the adjustment on the final but there are 3 adjustments inside this radio. :confused:

User avatar
Rockafella
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 21
Joined: Monday, 19 October 2009, 11:02 AM
Radio: Midland 1001z
Name: TalksAlot
Location: Big-M

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Rockafella » Tuesday, 20 October 2009, 13:16 PM

OK. i found this. This could help many with peak modulation on a Midland Radio.



I am hunting for the RV201 right now on the schematic. I would rather turn that to the left than clip the D203.

User avatar
Rockafella
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 21
Joined: Monday, 19 October 2009, 11:02 AM
Radio: Midland 1001z
Name: TalksAlot
Location: Big-M

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Rockafella » Tuesday, 20 October 2009, 13:17 PM

Don't know what happened to that link above.

User avatar
Rockafella
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 21
Joined: Monday, 19 October 2009, 11:02 AM
Radio: Midland 1001z
Name: TalksAlot
Location: Big-M

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Rockafella » Tuesday, 20 October 2009, 13:19 PM

ok obviously there is an issue with posting the "adjustment" link. so just add /midlandvrlist2.html to the back of the below link.

User avatar
Rockafella
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 21
Joined: Monday, 19 October 2009, 11:02 AM
Radio: Midland 1001z
Name: TalksAlot
Location: Big-M

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Rockafella » Tuesday, 20 October 2009, 13:21 PM

http:// www.radiomods. co.nz/ midlandvrlist2. html


ok .. take out the spaces and you will have it.. my god what an ordeal to post a link.!!!!!

User avatar
Night Crawler
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 3839
Joined: Tuesday, 15 May 2007, 8:03 AM
Location: Northern NJ
Referrals: 1

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Night Crawler » Tuesday, 20 October 2009, 16:26 PM

Rockafella wrote: I am hunting for the RV201 right now on the schematic. I would rather turn that to the left than clip the D203.

Your not going to find it on that schematic if it's for Midland 1001Z.
RV201and D203 are for the Midland 1001 an earlier model.

For the 1001Z it should be RV2 and D8.

User avatar
Rockafella
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 21
Joined: Monday, 19 October 2009, 11:02 AM
Radio: Midland 1001z
Name: TalksAlot
Location: Big-M

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Rockafella » Tuesday, 20 October 2009, 18:03 PM

Thanks Night Crawler. You are absolutely right. This radio is similar to the cobra 19 DX II. I found that just reading around and figured out it was the RV4 and D8. I don't want to clip the D8 because i have read that there could be issues with that.

Also, i have located the RFC5 Coil but can't locate the 1001z equivalent to the L201,L202 and L203. I know i can screw the RV4 out and up the wattage from around 4 to probably 10-12. I can get another 4-6 watts if i can find those coils above.

these are the instructions i have. RFC5 - spread moderately to gain TX power. L201 - force (2) loops of the coil over the core to increase the TX power. L202 - compress the coil as much as possible to gain TX power. L203 - spread coil and bend into a semi-circular arc to increase it's length which will increase the TX power.

A lot of work just to squeeze ever ounce out of a radio that is on my ATV don't you think? :lol:

User avatar
Night Crawler
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 3839
Joined: Tuesday, 15 May 2007, 8:03 AM
Location: Northern NJ
Referrals: 1

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Night Crawler » Wednesday, 21 October 2009, 6:56 AM

Rockafella wrote:A lot of work just to squeeze ever ounce out of a radio that is on my ATV don't you think? :lol:

If you want to get every ounce out of that radio here's a few other things you can do.

Remove R999 a 10 ohm 1/2 watt resistor and install a jumper or put in a swing kit.
(Second diagram 10 ohm install) http://www.geocities.com/y40002000/lcm8a.html

The #4 white wire would go to RFC 4 from where the resistor was removed and the #3 red wire to the other side coming from the modulation transformer.

Remove D9 the flyback diode and install a jumper which will put a little over half a volt more to the collector of the driver and final and give a little more output.

User avatar
Rockafella
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 21
Joined: Monday, 19 October 2009, 11:02 AM
Radio: Midland 1001z
Name: TalksAlot
Location: Big-M

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Rockafella » Wednesday, 21 October 2009, 9:04 AM

Thanks for that. I will do it

User avatar
Rockafella
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 21
Joined: Monday, 19 October 2009, 11:02 AM
Radio: Midland 1001z
Name: TalksAlot
Location: Big-M

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Rockafella » Monday, 26 October 2009, 8:35 AM

OK. I turned RV 4 almost all the way out (to the left, pot to the right). i am receiving fairly well but i have no TX unless they are within a few hundred yards.

Do you think the SWR is off so bad that i have no TX? would upping the TX cause my SWR to be off so bad i can barely transmit. I have a 3' barjan flex whip. i can tune it but i am tempted to just go buy a 3' standard steel whip or a skip shooter.

let me know you thoughts on that.

User avatar
Shatterhand
Duckplucker
Duckplucker
Posts: 133
Joined: Sunday, 09 August 2009, 12:02 PM
Radio: Midland 1001z
Name: Paul
Home Phone: 7143357527
Location: Shakey Town

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Shatterhand » Monday, 26 October 2009, 9:51 AM

Man you guys are good. I'm too afraid I'll mess up my Midland 1001z radio to mod it... lol.

User avatar
Rockafella
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 21
Joined: Monday, 19 October 2009, 11:02 AM
Radio: Midland 1001z
Name: TalksAlot
Location: Big-M

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Rockafella » Monday, 26 October 2009, 10:03 AM

The mod is super easy. I found my issue. Antenna isn't grounded well. I need to sand that rhino liner crap off and remount the bracket. That should do it per the ole man at the cb shop here.

User avatar
danman80246
NEW DUCK
NEW DUCK
Posts: 1
Joined: Tuesday, 10 November 2009, 21:26 PM
Name: dan

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by danman80246 » Tuesday, 10 November 2009, 21:37 PM

Would you by any chance have pics of the changes you made? Absolutely new to cbs and looking to get the 1001z shortly. Found this site after hearing of peak and tune and doing a search.

User avatar
BobCB
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 513
Joined: Tuesday, 07 July 2009, 21:46 PM
Radio: Cobra 25LTD(varies)
Antenna: A99, Browning BR-140
Name: Bobby
Location: Central Alabama

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by BobCB » Sunday, 15 November 2009, 21:36 PM

Yeah, I second that, post some pics or a detailed description of what you did if you don't mind. I'm interested in doing the same thing to a 1001z and I want to have something to go by.
854/BigDog in Central Alabama



User avatar
Rockafella
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 21
Joined: Monday, 19 October 2009, 11:02 AM
Radio: Midland 1001z
Name: TalksAlot
Location: Big-M

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Rockafella » Monday, 30 November 2009, 10:39 AM

i don't have any pics but i will take one and post it. the easiest thing to do is take the four screws out of the bottom and find the RV2 pot (it is labeled "RV2"). Turn that all the way up (turn it to the left). This gave mine about 10-12 watts. i can transmit about 5 miles with a not so hot mount on an atv and about 10 miles with a "wilson lil wii". thats smokin for an atv cb.

User avatar
Evil_Wind
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 30
Joined: Thursday, 17 December 2009, 7:32 AM
Name: Banned

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Evil_Wind » Thursday, 07 January 2010, 12:37 PM

Some pics would be great, also that link to geocities is no longer working.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

User avatar
Russell52
Mud-Duck Sr.
Mud-Duck Sr.
Posts: 6
Joined: Saturday, 09 January 2010, 12:46 PM
Name: Russell
Location: Memphis,Tn

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Russell52 » Saturday, 09 January 2010, 16:59 PM

Hi guys love the forum :) Thumbs up..

I am new to the forums,and I live in Memphis,Tn since 00'

I have a midland 1001z that I bought today at a local pawn shop,Needed the frame size for my car. This cb had never been tweaked on,and out of the box, it keyed about 4 watts,and swung 3,swr's were damn near nothing,coax good etc... Why would this be? I did remove and jumper modulation diode,but even before that it would swing backwards..

I need to fix that,then perform the needed mods on it for mo power,although that geocities link was down,anyone have the info that was on that page?

Thanks
Russ

User avatar
Russell52
Mud-Duck Sr.
Mud-Duck Sr.
Posts: 6
Joined: Saturday, 09 January 2010, 12:46 PM
Name: Russell
Location: Memphis,Tn

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Russell52 » Monday, 11 January 2010, 19:50 PM

Appreciate all the responses :) Is it feasible to change the final in this thing?

User avatar
Striker13
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 42
Joined: Tuesday, 25 May 2010, 1:40 AM
Radio: Midland 1001z
Name: Dave
Location: Washington or Montana

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Striker13 » Tuesday, 25 May 2010, 1:49 AM

So all I gotta do is take the darn thing out and turn a knob?

User avatar
Night Crawler
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 3839
Joined: Tuesday, 15 May 2007, 8:03 AM
Location: Northern NJ
Referrals: 1

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Night Crawler » Tuesday, 25 May 2010, 7:22 AM

Take what thing out and turn what knob?
Your not very clear on what your trying to accomplish.

User avatar
Striker13
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 42
Joined: Tuesday, 25 May 2010, 1:40 AM
Radio: Midland 1001z
Name: Dave
Location: Washington or Montana

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Striker13 » Tuesday, 25 May 2010, 8:35 AM

I am trying to increase the signal as you stated above however I am not sure what you mean by turning the rv2 all the way up.

User avatar
Night Crawler
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 3839
Joined: Tuesday, 15 May 2007, 8:03 AM
Location: Northern NJ
Referrals: 1

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Night Crawler » Tuesday, 25 May 2010, 12:26 PM

RV2 is the modulation pot which will increase your audio on transmit follow the directions below.
Rockafella wrote: find the RV2 pot (it is labeled "RV2")turn that all the way up (turn it to the left).

User avatar
Striker13
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 42
Joined: Tuesday, 25 May 2010, 1:40 AM
Radio: Midland 1001z
Name: Dave
Location: Washington or Montana

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Striker13 » Tuesday, 25 May 2010, 12:47 PM

So to increase transmition, is that receiving also? I just need to open it up and do that? I just want to get the best signal out of the little thing for Montana to Washington and back trips. Also offroading/fishing/hunting they are nice to have.

User avatar
Night Crawler
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 3839
Joined: Tuesday, 15 May 2007, 8:03 AM
Location: Northern NJ
Referrals: 1

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Night Crawler » Tuesday, 25 May 2010, 13:30 PM

Striker13 wrote:So to increase transmition
It will just make your audio louder when you speak into the microphone think of RV2 as a volume control for your microphone.
It will not make your transmitted signal any stonger if your radio tansmitting with 4 watts if you turn it up you still will be transmitting with 4 watts.
Striker13 wrote: is that receiving also?
No, it won't do anything for your recieve it will stay the same as it is now.

User avatar
Striker13
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 42
Joined: Tuesday, 25 May 2010, 1:40 AM
Radio: Midland 1001z
Name: Dave
Location: Washington or Montana

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Striker13 » Thursday, 27 May 2010, 16:51 PM

Am I suppose to the RV2 or RV4 or both? I see both talked about on here, I twisted to the left (counter clockwise) the RV2 to the max, however the RV4 I only twisted a little ways just because I was unsure.

User avatar
Night Crawler
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 3839
Joined: Tuesday, 15 May 2007, 8:03 AM
Location: Northern NJ
Referrals: 1

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Night Crawler » Thursday, 27 May 2010, 17:10 PM

Striker13 wrote:Am I suppose to the RV2 or RV4 or both?

Adjust RV2 only that's the pot to turn up the modulation.

RV4 is used to calibrate the RF Indicator or the LEDS (light emitting diodes) that light up when you transmit leave it alone.

User avatar
Striker13
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 42
Joined: Tuesday, 25 May 2010, 1:40 AM
Radio: Midland 1001z
Name: Dave
Location: Washington or Montana

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Striker13 » Thursday, 27 May 2010, 17:13 PM

Thanks Night don't exactly know how to do the other little mods you spoke of so I figured twisting something was easy enough :P

User avatar
Night Crawler
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 3839
Joined: Tuesday, 15 May 2007, 8:03 AM
Location: Northern NJ
Referrals: 1

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Night Crawler » Thursday, 27 May 2010, 17:19 PM

Don't bother with the other mods your not going to gain much it's not worth the trouble.
Put a power mic on that radio that would make a big difference in the way you sound.

User avatar
Striker13
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 42
Joined: Tuesday, 25 May 2010, 1:40 AM
Radio: Midland 1001z
Name: Dave
Location: Washington or Montana

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Striker13 » Thursday, 27 May 2010, 17:46 PM

Yeup been looking on amazon they are only 15 bucks.

User avatar
sneakers
2 PILL USER
2 PILL USER
Posts: 13
Joined: Monday, 02 August 2010, 21:55 PM

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by sneakers » Sunday, 22 August 2010, 0:04 AM

Hey gents,

I want to drop the DK on my 1001z to 2 watts; how would I go about doing this? Perhaps an Internal tweak or just use an external power reducer like the Zetagi RP2?

User avatar
Night Crawler
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 3839
Joined: Tuesday, 15 May 2007, 8:03 AM
Location: Northern NJ
Referrals: 1

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Night Crawler » Monday, 23 August 2010, 17:20 PM

sneakers wrote:I want to drop the DK on my 1001z to 2 watts; how would I go about doing this?
Replace R999 a 10 ohm 1/2 watt resistor that goes to the collector of the driver transistor with a higher value.

User avatar
sneakers
2 PILL USER
2 PILL USER
Posts: 13
Joined: Monday, 02 August 2010, 21:55 PM

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by sneakers » Monday, 23 August 2010, 19:09 PM

Night Crawler wrote:
sneakers wrote:I want to drop the DK on my 1001z to 2 watts; how would I go about doing this?
Replace R999 a 10 ohm 1/2 watt resistor that goes to the collector of the driver transistor with a higher value.

Many thanks indeed!!

User avatar
sneakers
2 PILL USER
2 PILL USER
Posts: 13
Joined: Monday, 02 August 2010, 21:55 PM

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by sneakers » Tuesday, 24 August 2010, 11:52 AM

sneakers wrote:
Night Crawler wrote:
sneakers wrote:I want to drop the DK on my 1001z to 2 watts; how would I go about doing this?
Replace R999 a 10 ohm 1/2 watt resistor that goes to the collector of the driver transistor with a higher value.

Many thanks indeed!!

Well, I opened her up and looked for R999 and only found C999 and it wasn't anywhere near the driver transisitor, so maybe they've changed the numbering. I'll have to get an expert to do this mod, or just get a one-way attenuator to half the transmit wattage.

Could someone please direct me to a suitable device to half output without affecting my receive strength?

I found the Zetagi RP2 Image
and the Noise Clipper NR400
Image

Are there others I should be looking at?

User avatar
twb5150
NEW DUCK
NEW DUCK
Posts: 2
Joined: Sunday, 29 August 2010, 19:51 PM
Name: Travis

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by twb5150 » Monday, 30 August 2010, 0:27 AM

Hello im new as well to the world of CB radios i to have the midland 1001z and im really wanting to do the RV2 mod. after doing this mod will it increase TX watts? if so will i notice the increase in power on my SWR/Power meter? also do i turn the pot all the way counter clockwise?

User avatar
Night Crawler
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 3839
Joined: Tuesday, 15 May 2007, 8:03 AM
Location: Northern NJ
Referrals: 1

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by Night Crawler » Monday, 30 August 2010, 7:42 AM

twb5150 wrote:i to have the midland 1001z and im really wanting to do the RV2 mod. after doing this mod will it increase TX watts?
No, it will just increase the percentage of modulation (make your audio louder on transmit)
twb5150 wrote: also do i turn the pot all the way counter clockwise?
Experiment if the audio drops when it's turned counterclockwise turn it clockwise.

User avatar
twb5150
NEW DUCK
NEW DUCK
Posts: 2
Joined: Sunday, 29 August 2010, 19:51 PM
Name: Travis

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by twb5150 » Wednesday, 01 September 2010, 21:44 PM

Thanks for the info Nightcrawler. I do have another Question. a year ago i bought a small 20-35w max linear amp and i was wondering if it would be worth it to hook it up to my midland 1001z? Would it improve my TX? or just cause problems? here is a link to the exact amp i bought. also any info on how the best way to hook it up to my radio (if its worth it) would be Great.. thanks


http://www.radioworld.co.uk/~radio/cata ... 7dff3f5974

User avatar
o8k
Super Mud-Duck
Super Mud-Duck
Posts: 8
Joined: Friday, 08 October 2010, 17:08 PM
Name: Casey

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by o8k » Friday, 08 October 2010, 17:26 PM

Cranking R2 just overmodulates your signal. Yep you will reach out further, yep more power, yep same 4 watt carrier no more no less, but at the price of having poor voice quality to whoever has to listen to you on the other end and on the other channels near the one your key'ed up on that you may bleed all over.

IM with that other guy were is R999 i wana drop my dead key wattage down a bit to make the CB more of a pre-amp. :icon_e_geek:

User avatar
apollo1234
NEW DUCK
NEW DUCK
Posts: 1
Joined: Wednesday, 03 November 2010, 20:43 PM
Name: M L Eddy

Re: Midland 1001Z peak

Post by apollo1234 » Wednesday, 03 November 2010, 21:31 PM

Is D203 the modulation limiter? Most radios you have to clip the mod limiter in order for the mod pot RV2 to do any good. Also how do you open the receive on the radio?
Not my first radio.


Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests